Traduction française : Polaris et Cedricdd de L'Alliance Francophone


Index :: BAM! Bug Report :: Resource share reset to zero in host details

Pages: [1]
Author
Message
Curly
PM
BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!-ID: 2588
Joined: 2006-06-26
Posts: 480
Credits: 167,006,962
World-rank: 4,861
Posted 2010-11-29 14:06:23
I used the feature to override the project resource share for some hosts (depending on the projects and the number of cores). Since yesterday i noticed that the resource share values (in the host details) are reset to zero ("0&quot. After setting the resource share to another value the boinc client ignores the host specific value.

How can I override the resource share for a single host? Or is this feature not supported anymore by Boinc?
Gundolf Jahn
PM Profile
BAM!-ID: 16586
Joined: 2007-01-07
Posts: 469
Credits: 480,988
World-rank: 301,017
Posted 2010-11-29 14:28:05
Curly wrote:
How can I override the resource share for a single host? Or is this feature not supported anymore by Boinc?

As far as I know, that feature has never been implemented.

What you can do is setting different resource shares for different venues (default, home, work, school) and then distribute your hosts between them.

Gruß,
Gundolf

Computer sind nicht alles im Leben. (Kleiner Scherz)
Curly
PM
BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!-ID: 2588
Joined: 2006-06-26
Posts: 480
Credits: 167,006,962
World-rank: 4,861
Posted 2010-11-29 16:20:54 , last modified: 2010-11-29 16:21:48
Gundolf Jahn wrote:
Curly wrote:
How can I override the resource share for a single host? Or is this feature not supported anymore by Boinc?

As far as I know, that feature has never been implemented.

What you can do is setting different resource shares for different venues (default, home, work, school) and then distribute your hosts between them.

Gruß,
Gundolf


It worked until today (at least for me).

Thanks for the tip anyway. I already use the venues, so it's ony detail more to configure.
Gundolf Jahn
PM Profile
BAM!-ID: 16586
Joined: 2007-01-07
Posts: 469
Credits: 480,988
World-rank: 301,017
Posted 2010-11-29 18:18:15
Curly wrote:
It worked until today (at least for me).

Maybe you used a BAM! feature, but definitely not BOINC.

Thanks for the tip anyway. I already use the venues, so it's ony detail more to configure.

You're welcome

Gruß,
Gundolf
Curly
PM
BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!-ID: 2588
Joined: 2006-06-26
Posts: 480
Credits: 167,006,962
World-rank: 4,861
Posted 2010-11-29 18:33:44
Gundolf Jahn wrote:
Curly wrote:
It worked until today (at least for me).

Maybe you used a BAM! feature, but definitely not BOINC.


Sorry for not making it clear: I used the BAM! feature to override the hosts resource share (BAM Menu -> Host list -> Click on a host name, column "Resource share&quot. And this worked with the boinc clients when attached to BAM.

Since the values are reset to "0" I thought it could be a BAM bug.
[BOINCstats] Willy
PM Profile
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!-ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9046
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,832
Posted 2010-11-29 18:58:58
Probably missed this in the new RPC, will add it.

Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
upstatelabs
PM Profile
BAM!-ID: 33830
Joined: 2007-09-04
Posts: 51
Credits: 12,821,097
World-rank: 32,420
Posted 2010-12-01 18:15:09
I noticed too that all the resource shares were reset to zero; this was due to a recent update?

If I set them back the previous setting, will they work?

[BOINCstats] Willy
PM Profile
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!-ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9046
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,832
Posted 2010-12-03 09:43:48
I fixed the problem with the resource shares, but to fix your hosts you have to change one of the resource shares in the host settings. That will update all the shares and keep them on the desired setting.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Curly
PM
BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!-ID: 2588
Joined: 2006-06-26
Posts: 480
Credits: 167,006,962
World-rank: 4,861
Posted 2010-12-03 10:57:47
The resource share values are still reset to zero after synchronizing one host with BAM.

- I changed the values for one host and saved them successfully (values are still there after reloading the host detail page).
- Then I synchronized this host with BAM and the resource shares are set correctly in boinc client.
- But in the host details the resource shares are reset to zero.
- Next synchronize with BAM comes up with the message "Resource share out of range: 0.000000".
[BOINCstats] Willy
PM Profile
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!-ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9046
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,832
Posted 2010-12-03 11:18:44
Damn, missed a tiny error in the sql query. Should be working now (but you'll have to do the resource change thing again).

Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Curly
PM
BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!-ID: 2588
Joined: 2006-06-26
Posts: 480
Credits: 167,006,962
World-rank: 4,861
Posted 2010-12-03 13:00:39
BOINCstats Willy wrote:
Damn, missed a tiny error in the sql query. Should be working now (but you'll have to do the resource change thing again).


It's working again. Thanks, Willy!
Pages: [1]

Index :: BAM! Bug Report :: Resource share reset to zero in host details
Reason: