Português do Brasil por Valter Aguiar


Index :: BOINCstats general :: Resource Share Problem

Pages: [1]
Author
Message
whr4th
PM
BAM!-ID: 19779
Joined: 2007-02-21
Posts: 2
Credits: 10,169,350
World-rank: 38,436
Posted 2007-12-08 22:22:14
Not sure where to post this - so i am putting it here.

For the longest time, my resource share numbers do not match from the BAM website (resources) to the several computers I use to run BOINC. I have tried updating from the website, synchronizing from within the Boinc program, all to no avail. I have, over time, changed the resources numbers and it appears that some of my old numbers are mixed in with the new ones. I run about 8 programs - 6 have a resource share of 10, the other two have 20. On my Boinc, it shows several at 10, one at 6, and one at 100.

Is there something I am missing? Why won't it snych up correctly??

Thanks in advance!
whr4th
PM
BAM!-ID: 19779
Joined: 2007-02-21
Posts: 2
Credits: 10,169,350
World-rank: 38,436
Posted 2007-12-10 13:43:44
Quick update - I am using version 5.10.20.

I went to each project's website and individually updated each one with my desired resource share and then updated from within Boinc. Each of the projects then showed the correct share on Boinc. That was two days ago. Now, several of the projects have reverted to their prior resource share numbers! ARG!

Please help.
RedMenace
PM Profile
BAM!-ID: 39076
Joined: 2007-11-20
Posts: 13
Credits: 150,827,321
World-rank: 5,143
Posted 2007-12-10 15:36:18
The 100 is likely WCG. It won't change resource allocations as it is not 100% synched.

ilmoitusasu
PM
BAM!-ID: 36194
Joined: 2007-10-08
Posts: 3
Credits: 1,383,151
World-rank: 157,628
Posted 2008-03-20 12:26:16
I have same problem now with Climateprediction.
in BAM --> Resources is 60, and all in my computers has 25, and updating don't fix it. I noticed this few days ago, earlier it worked perfectly
WyerByter
PM Profile
BAM!-ID: 3895
Joined: 2006-08-10
Posts: 369
Credits: 7,253,013
World-rank: 49,864
Posted 2008-03-20 13:46:56
I have same problem now with Climateprediction.
in BAM --> Resources is 60, and all in my computers has 25, and updating don't fix it. I noticed this few days ago, earlier it worked perfectly


In BAM resources can be controlled in two places. One is the Resources page for global settings. The other is the host page, to set values for specific hosts.

Each host will use the host specific values, if available. So, check to make sure you did not set any host specific values. To clear the host specific values place a dash(-) in the resource box for the project on the host page and then click update. The next time that the host syncs with BAM the host specific values will go away.

This signature stolen from somewhere.


ilmoitusasu
PM
BAM!-ID: 36194
Joined: 2007-10-08
Posts: 3
Credits: 1,383,151
World-rank: 157,628
Posted 2008-03-20 13:52:41
I've already checked all my host specific values and i have "-" in all places.
Reed Young
PM Profile
BAM!-ID: 46623
Joined: 2008-02-23
Posts: 14
Credits: 6,420,429
World-rank: 54,653
Posted 2008-03-27 22:46:49
Each host will use the host specific values, if available. So, check to make sure you did not set any host specific values. To clear the host specific values place a dash(-) in the resource box for the project on the host page and then click update. The next time that the host syncs with BAM the host specific values will go away.


Thanks WyerByter, updating the host-specific values to the desired level solves the problem for me.

I guessed that the host-specific levels function as an effective maximum, so that to 1000 on the project page then setting lower values on BAM as desired would result in the lower value being used, to maximize the convenience of BAM. That doesn't seem possible with climateprediction.net After trying that, when I updated the BOINC client the resource share was then set to match 1000, not to the BAM number (300). Like ilmoitusasu, I found no way to remove any host-specific values. Entering "-" was not allowed by climateprediction.net and "0" was changed to "100." For climateprediction.net at least, I see no way to change resource share using BAM.

WyerByter
PM Profile
BAM!-ID: 3895
Joined: 2006-08-10
Posts: 369
Credits: 7,253,013
World-rank: 49,864
Posted 2008-03-28 16:14:22
Entering "-" was not allowed by climateprediction.net and "0" was changed to "100." For climateprediction.net at least, I see no way to change resource share using BAM.


The "-" only works in the host resource settings here on BAM.

When using host specific preferences, when the global resource share changes for a project, the host will go with the new value from the project until the host syncs with BAM.

CPDN does have issues with resource setting from BAM, as does WCG. If you are noticing a problem like this, then check the project site and see if it is set properly.

This signature stolen from somewhere.


mo.v
PM
BAM!-ID: 25128
Joined: 2007-05-01
Posts: 280
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0
Posted 2008-12-16 20:33:26

Hi Willy

I'm one of the CPDN moderators. I don't use the BAM manager myself so I can't check what's been said about CPDN not respecting BAM crunchers' resource shares. But in this CPDN forum thread three of our members have said they've had this problem with BAM and CPDN for a long time.

Is there something Milo (our CPDN admin/programmer) needs to do to activate this?


[BOINCstats] Willy
PM Profile
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!-ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9035
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,794
Posted 2008-12-19 17:37:02
Is there something Milo (our CPDN admin/programmer) needs to do to activate this?


Using proper BOINC server code helps, but the specific RPC is am_set_info.php. If that script is properly implemented setting resource shares from BAM! will work fine.

Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
mo.v
PM
BAM!-ID: 25128
Joined: 2007-05-01
Posts: 280
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0
Posted 2008-12-19 17:42:40
Thank you, Willy. I will copy your advice to Milo.
salyavin
PM Profile Donator
BAM!-ID: 26954
Joined: 2007-05-19
Posts: 13
Credits: 548,327,900
World-rank: 1,982
Posted 2008-12-19 21:26:53
Just thought I would mention CPDN did not obey resource share from BAM for me as well. I could log into the CPDN site and see it did not take what BAM has set and I can change the resource share on the site and have it obey.
Ernis
PM
BAM!-ID: 12502
Joined: 2006-11-17
Posts: 1
Credits: 48,726,138
World-rank: 11,586
Posted 2009-01-09 00:34:09
Me to, I've just tried to change 'Global settings' in 'Computing preferences' in Boincstats (BAM) site. Seti@Home and Spinhenge@home sites updated changes immediately, but Climateprediction - settings left same as it was long time ago. I can change it only manually in CPDN site.

It would be great is someone would resolve this issue.
mo.v
PM
BAM!-ID: 25128
Joined: 2007-05-01
Posts: 280
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0
Posted 2009-01-09 01:17:08
Thank you for these reports. Milo at CPDN admin was on holiday for two weeks over Christmas and New Year. This BAM problem is on his rather long to-do list. There are only two CPDN programmers for a massive project which is why some things don't get done immediately. The problem hasn't been forgotten.

Mo
starchaser099
PM Profile
BAM!-ID: 74530
Joined: 2009-08-21
Posts: 4
Credits: 10,474,888
World-rank: 37,566
Posted 2009-09-24 21:24:24
I take it this problem apparently has not been fixed? As you can see in the picture below, there is some
sort of communication problem between BAM and CPDN. Also even though BAM has updated SETI
to the new Resource values and the SETI site reflects those new values, when ever BAM syncronizes is sets
the SETI resource to 200 which is a previous setting I had set through BAM.



Any help in resolving this would be appreciated

Thanks


mo.v
PM
BAM!-ID: 25128
Joined: 2007-05-01
Posts: 280
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0
Posted 2009-09-25 14:04:16
I'll find the CPDN thread where this was discussed and will send Milo a private message.

Mo
starchaser099
PM Profile
BAM!-ID: 74530
Joined: 2009-08-21
Posts: 4
Credits: 10,474,888
World-rank: 37,566
Posted 2009-09-25 15:45:53
thanks for the reply... Was this problem fixed already and i just didn't find the answer?

mo.v
PM
BAM!-ID: 25128
Joined: 2007-05-01
Posts: 280
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0
Posted 2009-09-25 22:53:26
Hi Starchaser

I don't think the problem can have been fixed, otherwise you probably wouldn't have posted the graphic that you did. Milo certainly didn't post here to say he'd found and fixed the problem as he usually does. I think this must have got lost on an overlong to-do list.

He received my PM about this but says he won't be around in the computer room at CPDN for a week or two but will look at what's going on after that.

In the meantime it would be helpful if one or two other BAM members could confirm that they still have the same problem.
Curly
PM
BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!-ID: 2588
Joined: 2006-06-26
Posts: 480
Credits: 166,756,961
World-rank: 4,808
Posted 2009-09-26 07:54:30
I can confirm the resource share problem with CPDN.
mo.v
PM
BAM!-ID: 25128
Joined: 2007-05-01
Posts: 280
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0
Posted 2009-10-09 16:58:36

I emailed Willy about the problem and he says: 'BAM! is using the correct URL (http://climateapps2.oucs.ox.ac.uk/cpdnboinc/) for AMS-RPC's.'

He actually sent me that email two or three days ago but I haven't been well for a few days.

I've posted his reply on the CPDN forum here and have told Milo.




mo.v
PM
BAM!-ID: 25128
Joined: 2007-05-01
Posts: 280
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0
Posted 2009-10-12 14:30:09

Milo has asked on the CPDN forum here whether a BAM! member could see if they can now successfully update their CPDN resource share preferences. I would prefer an answer from more than one member.
starchaser099
PM Profile
BAM!-ID: 74530
Joined: 2009-08-21
Posts: 4
Credits: 10,474,888
World-rank: 37,566
Posted 2009-10-12 18:35:31
I just tried to update from BAM and still receive the message "Incorrect response from project" So apparently it's still a problem..

mo.v
PM
BAM!-ID: 25128
Joined: 2007-05-01
Posts: 280
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0
Posted 2009-10-12 19:31:46 , last modified: 2009-10-12 19:32:10

A member has posted to say the same thing on the CPDN forum so Milo will have to try a different solution.
Pages: [1]

Index :: BOINCstats general :: Resource Share Problem
Reason: